DDAI - Data Driven Artificial Intelligence

The goal of our COMET module ‘DDAI – Privacy Preserving Data Driven Artificial Intelligence’ is to develop secure, verifiable and explainable AI that simultaneously protects privacy.

Project Kick-off & Press Conference

Our research and results within the DDAI module should drastically reduce the entry hurdle for companies and individuals to use privacy-preserving AI for data analysis in order to secure a competive advantage. The module covers all stages of the data processing pipeline, from data sources to be verified, to cryptographic methods for secure data processing, and offers AI users a better, more comprehensible basis for decision-making.

“Our work will contribute significantly to acceptance and trust in AI.”

Stefanie Lindstaedt

CEO

Data-Driven AI

The new COMET module from the FFG research promotion agency makes a significant contribution to development and innovation. The aim is to establish forward-looking research topics and build up new areas of strength. Through research at the highest level, new fields of research are established that go far beyond the current state-of-the-art.

The module, which is endowed with 4 million euros, will run for 4 years. The official project kick-off including a press conference took place on 10 February 2020 in Graz.

“With the COMET module on Artificial Intelligence, the focus on AI can be specifically expanded at Know-Center in Graz.”

Henrietta Egerth and Klaus Pseiner, Managing Director of the Austrian Research Promotion Agency FFG

Data-Driven AI
Data-Driven AI 1 2 3

Research areas

1Privacy oriented AI algorithms

We develop secure AI methods that do not reveal sensitive information and allow the analysis of encrypted data. This enables e.g. secure cloud computing – AI models can be exchanged more easily with customers and suppliers and private and public databases can be combined without security risks. We attach great importance to data protection and are working on new generations of secure and confidentiality-conserving AI algorithms.

2Explainable AI for analysts

AI solutions should not be a black box for users, we are working on making decisions for the algorithms used more understandable for analysts without disclosing confidential data. This is intended to strengthen trust in AI decisions, to better visualize models and to make the corresponding results more explainable.

3Explainable AI for users

The interaction of end users with AI is becoming increasingly important and we are researching how we can improve this interaction in the future. For example, we will improve the explainability of personalized recommendation systems and also develop new learning paradigms for Machine Learning to better train and empower employees and users in dealing with AI.

Research questions

  • Cryptography and Cryptoanalysis
  • Side-Channel Attacks
  • Machine Learning and Deep Learning
  • System Architecture
  • Homomorphic Encryption
  • Recommender Systems
  • (Social) Data Science
  • Data and Information Visualization
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Data-Driven Business

Your contact person

Scientific Partners

TU Graz Institute: IAIK (Prof. Christian Rechberger) and ISDS (Prof. Stefanie Lindstaedt)

KU Leuven (Cryptography, Prof. Nigel Smart)

Universität Passau (Machine Learning, Prof. Michael Granitzer)

Universität Twente (Explanable AI, Ass. Prof. Christin Seifert)

Industry Partners

DDAI - Data Driven Artificial Intelligence

Ziel unseres COMET-Moduls „DDAI – Privacy Preserving Data Driven Artificial Intelligence“ ist es sichere, verifizierbare und erklärbare KI zu entwickeln die gleichzeitig die Privatsphäre schützt.

Projekt Kick-off & Pressekonferenz

Es soll die Einstiegshürde für Unternehmen und Personen drastisch herabsetzen, AI für die Analyse der eigenen Daten zu nutzen um sich damit Wettbewerbsvorteile zu sichern. Das Modul umfasst damit alle Stationen der Datenverarbeitungskette, von der zu verifizierenden Datenquelle, über kryptographische Verfahren zur sicheren Datenverarbeitung und bietet den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern von AI eine bessere, weil nachvollziehbare, Entscheidungsgrundlage.

„Unsere Arbeit wird wesentlich zu Akzeptanz und Vertrauen in KI beitragen.“

Stefanie Lindstaedt

Know-Center CEO

Data-Driven AI

Die neuen COMET-Module der Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG tragen wesentlich zur Entwicklung und Innovation bei. Damit sollen zukunftweisende Forschungsthemen etabliert und neue Stärkefelder aufgebaut werden. Per Forschung auf höchstem Niveau werden neue Themenfelder etabliert, die deutlich über den bisherigen Stand der Technik hinausreichen.

 

Das mit 4 Millionen Euro dotierte Modul läuft 4 Jahre lang, der offizielle Projekt Kick-off samt Pressekonferenz fand am 10. Februar 2020 in Graz statt.

„Mit dem COMET-Modul zu Artificial Intelligence kann dieser Schwerpunkt am Know-Center in Graz gezielt ausgebaut werden.“

Henrietta Egerth und Klaus Pseiner, Geschäftsführer der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG

Data-Driven AI
Data-Driven AI 1 2 3

Forschungsbereiche

1Datenschutzorientierte KI-Algorithmen

Wir entwickeln sichere KI-Methoden, die keine sensitiven Informationen preisgeben und auch die Auswertung verschlüsselter Daten erlauben. Damit ermöglichen wir z.B. sicheres Cloud Computing, die KI-Modelle können leichter mit Kunden und Zulieferern ausgetauscht und private und öffentliche Datenbanken können ohne Sicherheitsrisiken kombiniert werden. Wir schreiben Datenschutz groß und arbeiten an neuen Generationen von sicheren und vertraulichkeitserhaltenden KI-Algorithmen.

2Erklärbare KI für Analysten

KI-Lösungen sollen keine Black-Box für Anwender sein, wir arbeiten daran die Entscheidungen der eingesetzten Algorithmen für Analysten verständlicher zu machen, ohne das vertrauliche Daten preisgegeben werden. So soll das Vertrauen in KI-Entscheidungen gestärkt, Modelle besser visualisiert und die entsprechenden Ergebnisse erklärbarer werden.

3Erklärbare KI für Benutzer

Die Interaktion von Endanwendern mit KI wird immer wichtiger und wir forschen daran, wie wir diese Interaktion in Zukunft verbessern können. Wir verbessern z.B. die Erklärbarkeit von personalisierten Empfehlungssystemen und entwickeln auch neue Lernparadigmen für den Umgang mit maschinellem Lernen, um Benutzerinnen und Benutzer besser zu schulen und im Umgang mit KI befähigen zu können.

Forschungsfragen

  • Kryptographie und Kryptoanalyse
  • Side-Channel Attacks
  • Maschinelles Lernen und Deep Learning
  • System Architecture
  • Homomorphic Encryption
  • Recommender Systems
  • (Social) Data Science
  • Data and Information Visualization
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Data-Driven Business

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Wissenschaftliche Partner

TU Graz Institute: IAIK (Prof. Christian Rechberger) und ISDS (Prof. Stefanie Lindstaedt)

KU Leuven (Kryptographie, Prof. Nigel Smart)

Universität Passau (Maschinelles Lernen, Prof. Michael Granitzer)

Universität Twente (Erklärbare KI, Ass. Prof. Christin Seifert)

Industriepartner