Recommendation systems require far less data than anticipated

Published on

A recently published scientific paper on the topic “Distributed Recommendation Systems” by an international team of researchers concludes that a lot of personal data is needed in order to make better recommendations. Our team of area Social-Computing replicated the study and subsequently refuted the result.

We encounter recommendation systems everywhere. Products, services and music are recommended to us on a daily basis. Traditionally, systems are organized in a centralized manner. Meaning sensitive data and models of service providers are administrated at external data processing centers. Data stored on our smartphone, e.g. ends up at data processing centers via third-party providers posing risks of user privacy violation.

Distributed recommendation systems: Private data do not leave smartphone & Co.

By means of “distributed recommendation systems” data remains stored directly on the end device (e.g. smartphone, laptop, smartwatch) and does not disappear from there. User interaction data also remain in place implicating far better user privacy protection.

No quality loss for less-interactive user recommendation

Research Area Manager of area Social Computing, Dominik Kowald on the interesting outcome at hand: “By using AI-supported methods such as federated learning & meta-learning we determined that virtually there was no loss of quality for users with less interaction data. No matter if they shared 100% of their data or only 30%. However, this was different in terms of users with lots of interaction data.”

As example:

 

The research work was carried out within the scope of the COMET module DDAI  and the EU-H2020 project TRUSTS. Thematically both of them outline the secure and explainable use of sensitive data. The resulting paper “Robustness of Meta Matrix Factorization Against Strict Privacy Constraints” was presented at ECIR 2021 during the “Federated Learning” session and is available free of charge.

Link to Paper

Mehr zum Thema

No items found

Angebote Know-Center

Stellenangebote

Mehr zum Thema

Empfehlungssysteme brauchen weit weniger Daten als angenommen

Veröffentlicht am:

Ein kürzlich veröffentlichtes wissenschaftliches Paper eines internationalen Forscherteams zum Thema „Verteile Empfehlungssysteme“ kommt zum Schluss, dass viele persönliche Daten nötig sind, um bessere Empfehlungen abzugeben. Unser Social-Computing Team reproduzierte die Studie und widerlegte das Ergebnis.

Empfehlungssysteme begegnen uns überall. Täglich werden uns Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder Musik empfohlen. Traditionell werden die Systeme zentralisiert organisiert. Das bedeutet, dass sensible Daten und Modelle von Dienstleistern in einem externen Rechenzentrum verwaltet werden. Daten, die z.B. auf unserem Smartphone gespeichert sind, landen oftmals über Drittanbieter im Rechenzentrum. Das birgt die Gefahr, dass die Privatsphäre der User verletzt wird.

Verteilte Empfehlungssysteme: Private Daten verlassen Smartphone & Co. nicht

Bei „Verteilten Empfehlungssystemen“ bleiben die Daten direkt am Endgerät (z.B. Smartphone, Laptop, Smartwatch) gespeichert und verlassen das Gerät nicht. Auch Interaktionsdaten der Nutzer bleiben an Ort und Stelle. Damit ist die Privatsphäre von Nutzerinnen und Nutzern weitaus besser geschützt.

Kein Qualitätsverlust bei Empfehlungen von wenig-interaktiven Nutzern

Social Computing Research Area Manager Dominik Kowald über das interessante Ergebnis: „Wir reproduzierten das Paper und stellten mithilfe von KI-gestützten Methoden wie Federated-Learning & Meta-Learning fest, dass wir bei Nutzern mit wenig Interaktionsdaten so gut wie keinen Qualitätsverlust hatten. Ob sie nun 100% ihrer Daten teilten oder nur 30%. Nur bei Benutzern mit sehr vielen Interaktionsdaten war das anders.“

Als Beispiel:

 

Die Forschungsarbeit entstand im Rahmen des COMET-Moduls DDAI und dem EU-H2020 Projekt TRUSTS. Beide befassen sich thematisch mit der sicheren und erklärbaren Nutzung von sensiblen Daten. Das entstandene Reproducibility Paper „Robustness of Meta Matrix Factorization Against Strict Privacy Constraints“ wurde in der Session „Federated Learning” auf der ECIR 2021 präsentiert und ist frei verfügbar.

Zum Paper

Mehr zum Thema

No items found

Angebote Know-Center

Stellenangebote

Mehr zum Thema