Recap Data Science Challenge 2018

Thunderous applause accompanied our winners of the Data Science Challenge on their way to the stage in the opulent halls of the Palais Liechtenstein. The best of the best were invited by the Know-Center as organizer of the Data Science Challenge 2018 to the EBDVF18 conference in Vienna. With great pride the winners were honoured on the spot by representatives of our esteemed sponsors, Siemens Austria and AVL List, and the prize money was handed over in symbolic form by means of the obligatory plus-size cheques.

The first place and EUR 1.200,– went to Team A. Merćep, R. Vaser and S. Begusic, Computer Science students from Zagreb. For the problem at hand, they not only used a single model, but combined a large number of predictive models trained with powerful graphical processing units (GPUs).  Since real data always contain missing entries and unknown values, we manually defined some additional rules that reflect the properties of the process for generating exhaust gases in vehicles.

Second (EUR 800,–) and third (EUR 500,–) place went to M. Kampelmühler and S. Müller from Graz, who achieved only slightly less impressive results with their statistical and machine learning approaches.

This year, 50 people took part in our Data Science Challenge, which represents an increase of 25% over the previous year. The participants used a variety of different methods to predict NOx emissions from vehicles and combustion engines. Similar to 2017, most participants reside in Austria. However, as a third of our participants come from abroad, we see a growing international community interested in our small competition.

The data set of the competition and the evaluations of the results are now available for public download. If you are able to exceed the benchmark of a mean absolute error of 36.85 for the validation dataset, we would be pleased if you send an e-mail to bdl@know-center.at with your result. For exceptional results, we provide you with a goodie!

Download dataset

We are looking forward to our next Data Science Challenge, which hopefully will include more of everything: more rewards, more participants and even more complex problems to solve!

Back
Contact Career

Hiermit erkläre ich ausdrücklich meine Einwilligung zum Einsatz und zur Speicherung von Cookies. Weiter Informationen finden sich unter Datenschutzerklärung

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recap Data Science Challenge 2018

Tobender Applaus begleitete unsere Gewinner der Data Science Challenge auf Ihren Weg zur Bühne in den opulenten Hallen des Palais Liechtenstein. Die Besten der Besten wurden vom Know-Center als Veranstalter der Data Science Challenge 2018 auf die EBDVF18-Konferenz in Wien eingeladen. Mit großem Stolz wurden die Gewinner dort an Ort und Stelle von Vertretern unserer geschätzten Sponsoren, Siemens Österreich sowie AVL List, geehrt und die Preisgelder in symbolischer Form mittels der obligatorischen Plus-Size-Schecks übergeben.

Der erste Platz (Preisgeld: 1.200 Euro) ging an das Team A. Merćep, R. Vaser und S. Begusic, Computer Science Studenten aus Zagreb. Für das vorliegende Problem haben sie nicht nur ein einzelnes Modell verwendet, sondern eine große Anzahl von prädiktiven Modellen kombiniert, die mit leistungsstarken grafischen Verarbeitungseinheiten (GPUs) trainiert wurden.  Da reale Daten immer fehlende Einträge und unbekannte Werte enthalten, haben wir manuell einige zusätzliche Regeln definiert, die die Eigenschaften des Prozesses zur Erzeugung von Abgasen in Fahrzeugen widerspiegeln.

Den zweiten (800 Euro) und dritten (500 Euro) Platz belegten M. Kampelmühler beziehungsweise S. Müller aus Graz, die mit ihren statistischen- und Machine-Learning-Ansätzen nur knapp schlechtere Ergebnisse erzielten.

An unserer Data Science Challenge nahmen dieses Jahr 50 Personen teil, was einer Steigerung von 25 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr entspricht. Die Teilnehmer setzten eine Vielzahl von verschiedenen Methoden ein, um die NOx-Emissionen von Fahrzeugen, respektive Verbrennungsmotoren,  vorherzusagen. Ähnlich wie 2017 haben die meisten Teilnehmer ihren Wohnsitz in Österreich. Da jedoch ein Drittel unserer Teilnehmer aus dem Ausland kommt, erkennen wir eine wachsende internationale Gemeinschaft, die sich für unseren kleinen Wettbewerb interessiert.

Der Datensatz des Wettbewerbes und die Auswertungen der Ergebnisse stehen nun für die Allgemeinheit zum Download bereit. Sollten Sie in der Lage sein, die Messlatte eines mittleren absoluten Fehlers von 36,85 für den Validierungsdatensatz zu übertreffen, würden wir uns freuen, wenn Sie sich per E-Mail mit Ihrem Ergebnis an bdl@know-center.at wenden. Für außergewöhnliche Ergebnisse stellen wir Ihnen ein Goodie zur Verfügung!

Datensatz herunterladen

Wir freuen uns auf unsere nächste Data Science Challenge, die hoffentlich mehr von allem enthalten wird: mehr Belohnungen, mehr Teilnehmer und noch komplexere zu lösende Probleme!

Zurück
Kontakt Karriere

Hiermit erkläre ich ausdrücklich meine Einwilligung zum Einsatz und zur Speicherung von Cookies. Weiter Informationen finden sich unter Datenschutzerklärung

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close