Know-Center and ISDS celebrate institute opening together with Open Lab Day and Summer Party

The opening of the new Institute for Interactive Systems and Data Science (ISDS) at Graz University of Technology (TU Graz) was held on June 22, 2017 at Campus Inffeldgasse. This celebratory event was followed by the yearly Open Lab Day and the annual summer party, which brought together employees, students and partners from both institutions.

The Institute for Interactive Systems and Data Science (ISDS) was founded in early 2017 by merging the Institute for Information Systems and Computer Media (IICM) with the Knowledge Technologies Institute (KTI). The goal was to provide an organizational framework for researchers of these fields which promotes interdisciplinary research, gives it visibility, and offers students room for experiments in the specially designed Interaction Lab.

At the opening ceremony Prof. Stefanie Lindstaedt (Managing and Scientific Director of Know-Center and Head of ISDS), Prof. Frank Kappe (Dean of the Faculty of Computer Science and Biomedical Engineering), Prof. Hermann Maurer (Initiator and Founder of Know-Center and Professor Emeritus at ISDS), as well as Prof. Horst Bischof (Vice Rector for Research at Graz University of Technology) held interesting talks, highlighting the history and future of ISDS and Know-Center.

After the opening keynote by VR Prof. Bischof, the new Data Science master’s degree to be offered at TU Graz was introduced by Prof. Stefanie Lindstaedt. The event continued with a historical talk titled “Journey from Interactive Computer Media to Data Science” which was led by Prof. Em. Maurer. The ceremony was brought to a conclusion by Prof. Kappe’s presentation of the ISDS research focus points and their corresponding teams.

The formal opening of the ISDS was followed by an Open Lab Day, offering all interested parties the opportunity to get an insight into the work and research fields of both, Know-Center and ISDS. Excerpts of current projects were presented and entire teams demonstrated the way research is done at both institutions. Students and those interested in research could exchange ideas with the researchers and developers as well as discuss possible topics for final theses.

Specifically, the ISDS research groups Motivational Media Technology, Web Science & Engineering, as well as Educational Technology and the Austria Forum presented themselves. The Know-Center was represented by exhibition booths of the four Areas Knowledge Discovery, Knowledge Visualization, Social Computing, and Ubiquitous Personal Computing, as well as the new Big Data Lab and a med360 user demonstration.

Finally, participants and employees could continue to discuss and network over drinks and food at the joint summer party of Know-Center and ISDS. Overall, the event was a great opportunity to connect researchers and students, as well as those interested in research, with each other and increase the general public’s awareness of Know-Center and ISDS. Roughly 150 participants seized this opportunity and got to know the research environment at Know-Center and ISDS in a relaxed atmosphere.

Here are a few impressions of the successful event:

Back
Contact

Wenn Sie diese Seite nutzen stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu mehr Information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Know-Center und ISDS feiern Institutseröffnung gemeinsam mit Open Lab Day und Sommerfest

Am 22. Juni 2017 fand die Eröffnung des neuen TU Graz Instituts für „Interactive Systems and Data Science“ (ISDS) am Campus Inffeldgasse statt. Im Anschluss an diese feierlichen Eröffnung luden die TU Graz und das Know-Center zum Open Lab Day und zum gemeinsamen Sommerfest ein.

Das Institut für „Interactive Systems and Data Science“ (ISDS) wurde Anfang des Jahres 2017 durch die Zusammenlegung der Institute „Informationssysteme und Computer Medien“ (IICM) und „Knowledge Technologies Institute“ (KTI) gegründet – mit dem Ziel, einen organisatorischen Rahmen für Forscherinnen und Forscher dieser Themenbereiche zu schaffen, der interdisziplinäre Forschung fördert, ihr Sichtbarkeit verleiht und Studierenden im neuen „Interaction Lab“ Raum für Experimente bietet.

Bei der Eröffnungsfeier hielten Prof. Stefanie Lindstaedt (Geschäftsführerin des Know-Center und Leiterin am ISDS), Prof. Frank Kappe (Dekan der Fakultät für Informatik), Prof. Hermann Maurer (Gründer des Know-Center und Em.Univ.-Prof. am ISDS) sowie Prof. Horst Bischof (Vizerektor für Forschung an der TU Graz) interessante Vorträge über die Vergangenheit und die Zukunft des Instituts und des Know-Centers.
Nach der Eröffnung durch Vizerektor Prof. Bischof, stellte Prof. Lindstaedt die neue Data Science Spezialisierung in Masterstudien der TU Graz vor. Weiter ging es mit einer „Reise von interaktiven Computer Medien zu Data Science“, die von Prof. Em. Maurer geleitet wurde. Den Abschluss der Eröffnungsfeier bildeten die Vorstellung der ISDS Forschungsschwerpunkte und deren Teams durch Prof. Kappe.

Nach der feierlichen Eröffnung des ISDS ging es mit dem Open Lab Day weiter. Der Open Lab Day bot allen Interessierten die Möglichkeit, einen Einblick in die Arbeit und in die Forschungsbereiche des Know-Center und des ISDS zu gewinnen. Es wurden Auszüge aus laufenden Projekten präsentiert und das gesamte Team demonstrierte, was es bedeutet Forschung am Know-Center und am ISDS zu betreiben. Studenten und an Forschung Interessierte konnten sich bei Demos mit allen ForscherInnen und EntwicklerInnen austauschen und auch mögliche Themen für Abschlussarbeiten besprechen.
Vom ISDS stellten sich die Gruppen Motivational Media Technology, Web Science & Engineering sowie Lehr- und Lerntechnologien (LLT) und das Austria-Forum (AF) vor. Das Know-Center war mit Präsentationsständen der vier Areas Knowledge Discovery, Knowledge Visualization, Social Computing und Ubiquitous Personal Computing sowie dem neuen Big Data Lab und einer med360 Demo vertreten.

Beim anschließenden gemeinsamen Sommerfest konnten TeilnehmerInnen und MitarbeiterInnen sich gemütlich bei Speis und Trank weiter austauschen und Kontakte knüpfen.

Im Großen und Ganzen war diese Veranstaltung eine gute Gelegenheit um Forscher und Studenten sowie Forschungsinteressierte miteinander zu vernetzen sowie das Know-Center und das ISDS einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit bekannt zu machen. Rund 150TeilnehmerInnen haben diese Gelegenheit wahrgenommen und in einer entspannten Atmosphäre das Forschungsumfeld am Know-Center und ISDS kennen gelernt.

Hier ein paar fotografische Eindrücke von der erfolgreichen Veranstaltung:

 

Zurück
Kontakt

Wenn Sie diese Seite nutzen stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu mehr Information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close